Updates I guess?

I’ve been pretty M.I.A this week, and because of that I’m going to go ahead and make posts weekly instead of daily :/, but hopefully I’ll be able to work back up to it again! Other than that, I want to talk about Israel and Palestine for a quick sec. Since I last talked about it, the situation has escalated quite a bit. And  lot of people in the West have chosen a side to support in the conflict, and most people are expressing their opinions respectfully and calmly, but I’ve seen a few nasty comments, as to be expected. But if we can’t stay calm in the West, how can we expect people in the East who are actually living it to stay calm and come to a solution? Sometimes things get heated, especially with things like this, but cursing people out isn’t going to solve anything, just like the constant rockets and missiles won’t.

Also, I saw a video of Malala Yousafzai in the hospital reading some of her get well cards. She’s expected to make a full recovery, and plans on going back to Pakistan and continuing her campaign for education. And I think the only word that fits here, Arabic-speaking or not, is Mashallah*.

SO! This post was sort of tiny and all over the place, but I’ll be back next Sunday, with a nice, well-planned post. I promise 🙂

-M

*Mā šāʾ Allāh (ما شاء الله) is an Arabic phrase that expresses appreciation, joy, praise or thankfulness for an event or person that was just mentioned.[1]Towards this, it is used as an expression of respect, while at the same time serving as a reminder that all accomplishments are so achieved by the will of Allah. It is generally said upon hearing good news. People may use this phrase to protect themselves from jealousy, catching the evil eye, or jinxing. The phrase is also used frequently by Christians in the Arab World. (Wikipedia)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

