Paint the Town Blue!

WELL HEY THERE.

It’s Monday but we’re going to pretend like it’s a Sunday and get the show on the road here on ShadesofBrwn.

CUE MUSIC!

Today I thought we’d kick it old school, to the year 1459, to be exact. In 1459, the city of Jodhpur was founded in the Indian state Rajasthan. It’s also known as the Blue City.

The Blue City of Jodphur at dusk.

Jodhpur is crazy beautiful. The state it’s located in, Rajasthan, is home to many of India’s historically important forts, such as the famous Merangarth Fort, which was also built in 1459. This fort happens to be located in the Blue City as well. So Rajasthan is known for it’s architectural beauty, but as you can see above, Jodhpur maintains a charm that’s pretty unique. Because…you know…it’s blue and whatnot. This color comes from the blue houses surrounding the Merangarth Fort. I read on one website that people local to the area say that the houses are painted blue because the color keeps the inside of the structures cool and it keeps mosquitoes away.

My chacha and chachi (uncle n aunt) recently came back from a trip to India. I was bummed that they didn’t go to Punjab during their visit, but they brought back crazy beautiful pictures of the places they did see, including the city of Jodhpur. I highly recommend you check out my chacha’s online album HERE.

Also, they were in India during the winter, and Punjab was experiencing record-breaking cold temperatures and a constant fog that decreased visibility substantially  so probably a good call.

But still. No Punjab pics is like taking out my heart and wrapping it in my soul and throwing it under an 18-wheeler, and then driving the 18-wheeler away and my heart and soul think they are safe, but then the 18-wheeler comes barreling down the road, and comes to a screeching almost-halt when it approaches my heart- soul-bundle and slowly–slowly–runs it over. And then a dementor comes straight out of Harry Potter book 3 and performs the dementor’s kiss on my soul. And then a raccoon comes and eats my heart.

…Too much, M.

Yeah, I know.

Like way too much. Like woah. At least you got to see pictures of India at all.

You’re right, they’re beautiful pictures.

Yeah. Like way to be ungrateful and just over the top and-

I SAID YOU WERE RIGHT, VOICE OF REASON. LEAVE IT ALONE NOW.

But-

NO, YOU NEED TO KNOW WHEN TO DROP IT.

Okay. You’re right.

NO WAIT DON’T DO THAT THING.

What are you talking about, M?

THAT THING. WHERE YOU ACT LIKE YOU’RE ALL CALM AND IT MAKES ME LOOK LIKE I’M OVERREACTING.

I’m not doing that, M. 

YOU ARE THOUGH, OKAY?

Okay. 

…K guys. I think it’s time for me to peace out. And I apologize for this post. It appears that my preventative poo-post measure from yesterday did not prevent this post from being poo. I’m taking the ACT tomorrow and there’s a chance that I’m subconsciously a tad stressed out over it, and I may or may not have taken that out on voice of reason. I’m sorry you had to see that. If you need to give yourself a mental relief from all of the drama that just went down, check out this set of pictures of Jodhpur on Tumblr right HERE. They’re pretty breathtaking.

Well, I guess I’ll see you next week. I promise I’ll get my ish together and have an organized post that progresses logically and whatnot.

-M

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Paint the Town Blue!

  1. It’s Kimberly’s fault we didn’t go to the Punjab. I’ll come up with reasons for this claim shortly 🙂

    Your Uncle

  2. .ps I ❤ Voice of Reason. Maybe she should start her own blog.

Leave a Reply

