YA GIRL IS GOING HOME

That’s right. I had something else planned for this week’s post, but I CAN’T NOT TELL YOU GUYS I JUST CAN’T.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I N D I A  T R I P   I S  A  G O !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

source:http://perezhilton.com/tag/one_direction/#sthash.6oCg1hbn.dpbs

PUNJAB IS A GO

Source:http://naughtydirectioners22.tumblr.com/post/57988347319/preference-60-his-reaction-feeling-the-baby-kick

HARMANDAR SAHIB? OH HARMANDAR SAHIB….IS A GO

source: http://tommo-paypay.tumblr.com/

WAGAH BORDER AKA GETTING TO SEE MY OTHER LOVE PAKISTAN IS A GO

Source:http://shaddei-malik.tumblr.com/post/30326762208/one-direction-can-dance-sorry-your-argument-is

VISAS CAME THROUGH. TICKETS HAVE BEEN BOUGHT. IT’S HAPPENING. 

Source: http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/one-direction/images/31805530/title/zayn-dancing-gif-fanart

     FIRST let me tell you what this means for the blog before I forget. I’m not taking a computer, so I won’t be able to write posts while in India, which will be for about 2 weeks. However, I’m going to write a couple of posts before I go, and schedule them to publish on the two Monday’s I’ll be gone, so it will be like normal ShadesofBrwn Mondays! You’ll grab your popcorn and go to your FAVORITE website and read the new posts and IT WILL BE LIKE I’M NOT EVEN GONE. That’s some magic mystical stuff right there. And so on the 23rd and the 30th there will still be posts even though I won’t be here, and then the following Monday, which will be the 6th of January, I’ll be back, and I’m sure I’ll have plenty to blog about 🙂

However, I won’t be able to approve comments while I’m gone. I don’t really feel like I need to have that setting on, where I approve comments before they appear, but I can’t figure out how to turn it off. (Any suggestions?) You can still leave as many comments as your heart desires, but they won’t appear on the blog until I come back and approve them. 

Okay, now that that’s out of the way…do you want to hear about my trip :))))))))))))))))))))))))))

We’re leaving the day after I get out of school for Christmas break, so the 18th.

trip1

We’re landing in Delhi on the 19th.

trip2

Hopping on a train the next day.

trip3

ARRIVING IN PUNJABBBBB!!!! CHAK DEEEEEE PHATEEEE

trip4 - Copy trip4 trip5 - Copy trip5

Driving from Chandigarh to Amritsar the next day, to see Harmandar Sahib ❤

trip6

AND to see the border (although not during the ceremony). I’m soo excited for this. I get to see not only my number one, India, but my OTHER number one, Pakistan <333


trip8

We’re spending the night in Amritsar, and then heading back to Chandigarh, and then on a day trip to Patiala, where my grandpa’s from 🙂
trip7

And after a trip to a museum, we’ll be done in Punjab </3 

BUT then we’re going back to Delhi, where some of my family has relocated to after moving out of Punjab. I’m not sure exactly what our itinerary is for Delhi, but I know it will include…

Gurdwara Sis Ganj, where Guru Tegh Bahadar Ji was beheaded.
trip9

And HOPEFULLY I’ll be able to convince someone to take me to see Jama Masjid, which is in Delhi and it’s really old and beautiful.

trip10

AND AT SOME POINT, WE’RE GOING TO LEAVE DELHI REAL QUICK AND TAKE A TRIP TO AGRA TO SEE THE YOU KNOW WHAT. 

trip11

And other than that, who can say what our trip is going to hold? Along with seeing the sights, we’re going to be seeing family we haven’t seen in years, and family we have in fact never seen. So that’s going to be nice 🙂 Alsooo while we’re in Punjab, we’re going to be just a 3 hour drive from a certain northern state…with a lot of mountains…and snow….

trip12

Aaaaand I’m not saying we’re going to Kashmir…we’re for sure not planning on it…but even just knowing we’re THAT close to the most beautiful place in the world (next to Punjab, of course) will be so surreal. And I mean, it’s India. Who knows what’s going to happen 🙂

Anyways guys, thanks for indulging me this post. Sorry if hearing me rant about my trip wasn’t what you had in mind for this week’s post. But hopefully you enjoyed it? What do guys think about the schedule? Are we leaving off anything crucial?? TELL ME YOUR THOUGHTS.

ily

-M

ps-also thank you guys for indulging me in person 🙂 swathi, merny, ria, simran, momster, and beeji 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “YA GIRL IS GOING HOME

  1. 1. Yay!
    2. I love the artists renditions of your flight & India Gate in particular.
    3. I’m really looking forward to your posts rom India, you know you could do some from your iPhone. Ask me if you want pointers or download the WordPress app.
    4. The best advice I have for your trip is: “If you don’t see the Taj at sunrise, you haven’t seen it.” SERIOUSLY. MAKE SUNRSE HAPPEN. PREPARE MOM AND DAD.
    5. If you’re interested, check my 3 trips to India on my blog – the easiest way to find them all is: http://www.deeptrouble.com/category/travel/
    6. If you go to Punjab and Mom & Dad feel like reminiscing about family history, make sure you take video (or audio recordings) using your phone.
    7. Do NOT forget your phone charge/cable.

    • shadesofbrwn says:

      Thanks Dimpu Uncle! Yeah, that’s a good point, I do have the WordPress app, so I could use that when there’s wifi. OMG. I so want to see the Taj at sunrise. I’m not sure if we’re just going for a day trip or what, but I will do everything in my power and beyond to make sure we do!
      omg and yes, i love stalking your india posts. it’s been awhile though, i will proceed to do so now. also i dont know if ive seen the old ones! and i didnt even think about dar ji beeji reminiscing! now that you mention it im like 99% sure they will. i will be ready with phone in hand 🙂

  2. 8. Drink Chai from a street side stand. BEST CHAI EVAR. SHOCKING HOW GOOD! mom & Dad will probably resist. Make it happen! You won’t regrets it (get it from somebody who uses disposable cups if that makes it easier.)

    • shadesofbrwn says:

      WHAT ELSE IS SAFE TO EAT FROM THE STREETS. BECAUSE I WILL WANT TO EAT EVERYTHING.

      • Mom’s rule is: DON’T EAT ANYTHING WHILE YOU ARE IN INDIA! It is not safe. She will make grudging exceptions for things cooked by officially recognized Massis.*

        My rule: EAT EVERYTHING THAT LOOKS LIKE IT HAS BEEN COOKED/BOILED RECENTLY. Especially deep-fried or the like. Also make sure you aren’t eating/drinking anything involving tap water. (Watch out for washed vegetables & the like – fruits & veggies that you peel yourself are great)

        *http://www.deeptrouble.com/2005/02/21/india-1-of-3-the-massi-experience/

      • kimberly says:

        you should eat all the things! ok, not ALL the things. it’s important to have good judgement and street food smarts when eating in other countries. first, only eat things that are hot and freshly made. second, be conscious of where it’s coming from – if things don’t look clean, and there aren’t other people there eating it, don’t eat it. lines of people mean high turnover and freshness. equally importantly, don’t always listen to your family (don’t tell beeji i said that!) but honestly, their goal is to keep you from getting sick at all costs, and you’ll miss out on amazing stuff. be smart and choose what you eat. don’t push your system to the max (no matter what ‘deep says!) anything hot and fried is good. boiled chai is good. the sweets are amazing, just be sure to get things that look freshly made.

      • shadesofbrwn says:

        AHAHAHA dimpu uncle. the massi experience. ok. i guess im just going to have to eat when bee ji’s not looking. it’s okay i have experience doing this.

  3. kimberly says:

    WOOT! so excited the trip is happening – seriously, trips with grandparents are amazing. india is amazing. +1 on everything ‘deep said. can’t wait to hear all about it!!

    • shadesofbrwn says:

      aahh thank you kimberly chachi! i will definitely tell you guys how it goes 🙂 your advice is greatly appreciated, particularly the don’t always listen to your family. it is safe with me and it will likely be followed on many occasions 🙂 and ok, so hot and fried. i think can work with hot and fried things.

    • shadesofbrwn says:

      and yeah, im glad im going with the grandparents. i think it’ll b really nice seeing both of them go back after so long–my darji hasn’t been in like 40 years O_o

Leave a Reply

